Time Settings

Purpose & Benefit: Our time tracking software ensures every business expense is organized, accessible, and comprehensible. Let’s face it, it’s about time. TimeSolv lets you enter time from anywhere through our TimeSync app, even without internet access. Make sure you have all your settings in place according to how you would like to fill in time entries best suited to your business needs.

 

VIDEO:


To specify settings for time entries:

  • Click the Settings under the Time tab.

 

  • Specify the Billing Increment (Hours) field.

Note: An example of formatting the billing increment in hours would be 15 minutes (a quarter of an hour) entered as 0.25 (a quarter of 1) in this field. 

If you enter 0 as a billing increment, time will still be calculated microscopically (at a billing increment of 0.007). 

Administrators need to be cautious when changing a billing increment for the whole firm. When a Timekeeper’s timer is running or is restarting, it will mess up their time log if the increment is changed in the middle of running time. 

 

  • Specify the Time Entry Lock Out Date. If the option ‘Allow Entries for All Dates’ is selected, there is no restriction on Time or Expense Entry date for all users.

Note: This will lock out any time entries made after the date specified in this field by any professionals/timekeepers that do not have administrative accounts. This is a useful feature to avoid professionals/timekeepers to slip in a time entry after an invoice has already been billed out to a client for a certain time period.

 

  • If the option ‘Allow Entries On or After Date’ is selected, a non-admin user can only add/update Time or Expense Entries on or after the date of specified settings. By default, the past or future days will show as zero.
  • If the option ‘Allow Entries During Rolling Period’ is selected, a non-admin user can only add/update the Time or Expense Entry if the date is within the range of allowed days. E.g. If the date of Time or Expense Entry is prior to the number of allowed past days or after the number of allowed future days.

 

  • Select the Time Internal Note Shown checkbox if needed. Users may customize how the label of the ‘Time Internal Note’ field appears in the system for them.

Note: Checking this box will allow you to record any notes for internal use for a specific time entry that you do not wish to appear in clients correspondence.

 

  • Specify the Task Label from the following options (this is a preference on how you would like the terminology to appear across your account):

Task
Event
Task

 

  • Select Prompt for Delete Confirmation if needed. If you select this box, you will get a pop-up message asking for confirmation before a time entry is deleted. If you leave this unchecked, there will be no warning message before deleting a time entry, and there is no way of recovering an accidental deletion.

 

  • Specify the Time Tax Rate (%).

Note: This is a useful feature for those who need to place a tax on their time OR are looking to place an administrative fee. For example, if you have an admin fee of 3% of the time billed, you will enter 3% in this field. For entering tax rate, this is where you would enter the default global tax rate. If you need a more specific rate, you can override this rate at the Client>Settings level.

 

  • Select the Enable Time Approvals by Matter checkbox if needed.

Note: This field means that if you have an approval system set up at the Matter level, you can toggle the approval system on and off from here. Having an approval system means that you can monitor and confirm time entries made for a specific Matter. If you have both Énable Time Approvals by Matter and Enable Time Approvals by Staff Member boxes checked (as shown below), please note that the Matter level approval system will supersede the Staff Member level approval system.

 

  • Select the Enable Time Approvals by Staff Member checkbox if needed.

Note: This field means that if you have an approval system set up at the Account>Staff Member/Professional level, you can toggle the approval system on and off from here. Having an approval system means that you can monitor and confirm time entries made by a specific staff member/professional. If you have both Énable Time Approvals by Matter and Enable Time Approvals by Staff Member boxes checked (as shown below), please note that the Matter level approval system will supersede the Staff Member level approval system.

 

  • Select the Automatically Submit Time Entries for Approval checkbox if needed.

Note: This means that when a staff member or an approval matter is saved, it will automatically be sitting and waiting for approval in the approver’s account. If this box is unchecked, a Submit button will appear on the Time Entry screen. The time entry will not be submitted for approval until the staff member clicks on the Submit button. 

 

  • Select the Notify Approvers via Email checkbox if needed. Please click here and here for more information on our approvals system.

Note: An email notification will be sent out to an approver at midnight and then at 8 am to notify them that there are approvals waiting for them. It is useful to note that an approver will not be inundated with emails for each and every time entered. If this box is unchecked, it is up to the approver to log in and check to see if there is any time entry waiting to be approved.

 

  • Select the Show Start/Stop Time checkbox if needed.

Note: This will give you two fields to enter in a time you started an activity and to enter in a time you ended an activity. For example, you started working at 11:05 am and finished working at 2:03 pm. After entering those amounts in the relevant fields, the system will work out the billing hours for you, according to the billing increment set up. It is important to note that toggling this feature on will remove the stopwatch timer feature on the time entry page.

 

  • Select the Allow Total Amount Entry checkbox if needed.

Note: This will allow you to see three fields for your entry – the number of hours, the rate, and the total amount (the calculation of the first two). For example, your rate is $100 an hour, and you enter in 0.5 for the number of hours, which will show a total amount of $50. You can see this total amount of $50 in another field to adjust or manipulate the figure as you please. So, instead of specifying charging hours, you charge a set amount of $300, so the system will record this as three hours charged at $100 an hour. 

 

  • Select the Set Time Entry Description checkbox or Task Code Description Only.

Note: This means that if you are using task codes, the description of the task code will pre-fill into the time entry description. Please note that if you are using sub-task codes, the sub-task code will be used as the pre-filled description unless you check Task Code Description Only.

 

 

  • Specify Task Code Option from:

Not Displayed – will not show up as a field on Time Entry page.
Required – will show up as a field on Time Entry page, and it will be a mandatory field.
Optional – will show up as a field on Time Entry page, but it will be an optional field.

 

  • Specify Sub-Task Code Option from:

Not Displayed – will not show up as a field on Time Entry page.
Optional – will show up as a field on Time Entry page, but it will be an optional field.
Required – will show up as a field on Time Entry page, and it will be a mandatory field.

 

  • Click to ‘Clear Quantity and Description on Save & Duplicate‘. This will blank out the following fields when the user clicks on ‘Save & Duplicate‘ button on Expense Entry screen:

Start/Stop Time

Hours

Internal Notes

Description

 

  • Click Save.

 

  • Click here for Activity Codes settings.
  • Click here for Global Rates settings.
  • Click here for Rate Changes settings
  • Click here for TimeCard Categories settings./s

Related Post